Election Season 2019 is Underway


As the holiday season comes to a close and we prepare for the new year, the City of Kerrville Election Season will be underway. The city announced today that applications are being accepted for ballot spots for Place 1 and Place 2, currently held by Vincent Voelkel and George Baroody, respectively.

Incumbents Voelkel and Baroody — up for reelection in May 2019.

Kerrville holds city council elections every year. Each member of council serves a two-year term, and the places we elect alternate each year: Place 1 and Place 2 on odd years, and Place 3, Place 4, and Mayor on even years. So, this year, we’ll elect two of five places on the council. All of the seats are “at large,” meaning we don’t have geographic districts — any resident can run for any place regardless of where he or she lives.

Last year voters elected Mayor Bill Blackburn, Place 3 Judy Eychner, and Place 4 Delayne Sigerman. Those three members’ terms expire in May 2020.

Any eligible resident may apply for a spot on the 2019 ballot, assuming they meet the following criteria:

  • Qualified voter in the State of Texas
  • At least 18 years old
  • Resident of the city for at least one year
  • Cannot hold other elected office or employment of the city government

As of this writing on December 26, 2018, no candidates — incumbents or challengers — have officially filed for a spot on the ballot.